New player, need help with 1st gym.

DecShep

Hello. I started playing this game recently. But I am having trouble with being, well good lol.

I cannot for the life of me get past the 1st gym. I admit I must suck, because I'm finding it really frustrating the 1st gym has a full team of 6. Here is my team:

Monferno Lv18 (Iron Fist)

Kricketune Lv17 (Fury Cutter)

Igglybuff Lv17 (Perish Song)

Stunky Lv11 (Poison Gas)

Pachirisu Lv9 (Volt Absorb)

Espurr Lv14 (Light Screen)

I also just got Budew but its only Lv 8 and I don't want to risk losing its happiness if it faints.

Didn't want to spend too long writing complete movesets, so I just added what their use is at this moment. The best I got was Kricketune wiping 3 of her Pokemon with Fury Cutter. But then she sent out Electrode and it just swept my team with one hit. 

I've seen here users get annoyed when people complain about the difficulty, so I don't want to sound like that. But I am finding it hard to train since my only option is like grass with lv 3 ledbya and a stunky cave at lv8.

Is there some strategy I'm missing? Someone else I can catch or item I can use?

You should try levelling up your pachirisu more, he is actually very useful for this fight probably around level 15 will do. As for other pokemon options you could try catching a goldeen with lightning rod. There is a house with a fisherman and if you beat him he will allow you to fish in a pool in his house. You can also find the rod somewhere in the city from another fisherman

• Like 1

Use the upper Peridot alleyway (levels average around 11-12) to beef Kricketune up to the level cap. Would be surprised if at level 20 it still can't survive Oricorio Air Cutter + Electrode Charge Beam given the relatively low levels of Julia's team. This should just clean sweep if it lives those hits. (Can also avoid damage from Oricorio with really lucky Sing hit + good sleep turns)