EV Training

Lucifer Morningstar

I'm new to this but I wanted to give it a go on my level 81 Swanna as she could use some improvements particularly in her Special Defense. 

I bought a few EV reset discs and had the Power items from the new Slyveon I am leveling up. I used the Special Defense reset disc and gave her a Power Band and used her to wipe out a few of Indra's Pokemon then a few rock and fighting Pokemon on Route 2. 

Her Special Defense EVs were at 40. Now they're at 33 and won't increase anymore! What the fuck?!

Again I am new at this but I am getting pissed, please tell me I'm doing something wrong and that I didn't just waste my somewhat low money on these stupid discs just to LOSE 7 EVs?
I was a little worried about using them on a level 81 Pokemon but thought why would they be withheld from availability until such a point in the game if high leveled Pokemon can't benefit from them?!

Chloe has been with me since I hatched her and has been such a large part of my success in this game despite her bad EVs and I love her but if I could have bettered her, I just wanted to take the opportunity. 

Hey no worries, I'm sure we can figure out what's up and Chloe will be tanking those special hits in no time! 

So EV training can make a big difference in how a pokemon performs, it basically helps you specialize them to what role you want them to play (generalist, physical wall, special attacker, etc), so I personally think EV training is great. 

I don't think you would want to reset her Special Defense to 0 though by using a reset disc? A pokemon can only have a total of 510 EV points across all their stats. So if you want to boost Chloe's special defense you would want to decrease the EV's in other stats while adding more EV's to the special defense stat. Was she at 40 before you used the special defense reset disc? Or a little while after?