Oh great, more LoL talk

Amethyst

• Administrators

It's so annoying how often League of Legends (LoL) overtakes the main chat. Like, seriously, every time I come into main, it's this champion or that champion. I don't even play, so why should I care at all?

I've been doing Reborn for a lot longer than I've been playing LoL, and I saw the same gibberish that probably many of you who sympathize with the above see. I would see Lux, Rabadon's, bruiser, bot, Nexus, turret, and I'd just be like

what

what is this

what is that

what is even going on

why are we talking about this

And honestly, before I started playing the game, I could not for the life of me figure out anything about it. It's a very complex game- a tremendously steep learning curve. That's part of why it gets talked about so much, because all of its players are always learning. But before I played, I was so confused by everything, I didn't even understand the objective of the damn thing.

There's been some discussion about confining LoL chat to a separate channel. And if such a thing were used enough, it might work, but when we've tried that in the past both channels were pretty well, dead. A lot of users play League now so there are a lot of people interested in talking about it- they don't necessarily want to head off to a separate chat each time because, let's be honest, how many of us would even bother?

At the same time, I can't in good conscious make a thing like that against the rules in itself because, um... It isn't. There's nothing wrong with discussing a game- it happens a lot with minecraft too, or with Halo, CoD, some RPGs- it overtakes the mainchat. With less popular games there's probably a lot more people who have no clue what's going said.