Mr. SU's VS Sprite Emotion Edits

Mr. SU

Howdy Gamers! I'm currently working on a mod of Pokemon Reborn that has a short, lighthearted take on Reborn's story and I want to use the VS sprites used before battles as character mugs used for dialogue. I'm still a novice to sprite art and art in general so I'd really appreciate any feedback I could get in regards to these sprite edits I've done so far. I've just been focusing on Decibel since they're going to be the protagonist and I'm nearly done with my checklist but I figured I'd post here since the sprite edits chat in the Reborn discord server hasn't been super helpful. Here's what I've got so far and a few examples of them being used in-game.

First off we got the varying levels of pissed off trio

DecibelAngry.png.f63590fcda1ad090af39340c22d542b0.pngDecibelAngry2.png.0e8b2fe609e80296f5a05de6e8405b6b.pngDecibelAngry3.png.692028eda6eba6fbf1a1460b7fe44cc5.png

For nervous and sad I just could not be bothered to go with Decibel's normal eyebrows cause in their original vs sprite it's like 4 pixels so I said fuck it and just give them jet black eyebrows cause Clarity > Realism

DecibelNervous.png.e3a9cde1e3de7f1a983b62c46b2291ad.pngDecibelSad.png.9813d91c64035e9fe7c357de666e46a3.png

In particular I'm very iffy about moving the eyes in the nervous sprite but I think it turned out alright?

The shouting duo was kind of an emotional journey and I don't even know how they turned into anything resembling passable. I copy pasted Terra's mouth then I kept editing them over and over and somehow it turned into something passable over several days of minor edits

DecibelShout.png.49a8a08c331cd338b76dd039de5f57ce.pngDecibelConfidentlyYelling.png.c6583bf9ae5e6b6b5c7716a87093f1d0.png

The nice thing about this being a light-hearted mod is I can make these look silly and have fun with them.

Lastly I have thinking Decibel.

DecibelThinking.png.d07c6462b0039e2b69ee69a7c0479f5e.png