My Steam Deck arrived earlier yesterday and the first thing I set about doing was getting Pokemon Reborn working on it.

Spoiler

At first I tried running it through Windows not realising Reborn has had a proper Linux release since I last downloaded the game in forever ago but directional inputs were very finicky, I suspect as a result of Windows also eating up inputs at the same time.

This is being written for Reborn Ep 19.16, Rejuvenation V13.0.5 and SteamOS version 3.2 Build 20220526.1; I have ZERO experience with Linux and this stuff is going to be pretty easily placed together by a competent Steam Deck user but I'm not one of those and I didn't see any guides out there so I went ahead and wrote one for dummies like me. While a USB-C hub connected to a mouse + keyboard are convenient, they’re not necessary.

Installation

1. Switch to Desktop Mode. Open up your web browser and download the Linux version of your game to a folder somewhere accessible and easy to remember.

2. Extract your newly downloaded zip.

For Reborn:
Open the updater file, click install game. After finishing the download, it’ll give you a warning to extract the core-lnx.zip. Do so. I un-checked the extraction into subfolder option here. You can over-write any files it asks you to, but I found that all the new files are the same ones as the old ones anyways so it shouldn’t matter.

For Rejuvenation:
Nothing extra needs to be done.

3. Still in Desktop Mode, open up Steam. Click on Add A Game -> ‘Add a Non-Steam Game...’ on the bottom OR Games -> Add a Non-Steam Game to My Library on the top row.

For Reborn:
Click browse and head to your installation folder. Change file type on the bottom to ‘All Files’ and click on Game.AppImage (NOT Game.exe) and then open. Add Game.AppImage as a selected program.

For Rejuvenation: