"And From The Yellow Windows of The Last Train...

TwilightCoda

...a spectre from the next life breathes his fog on the pane..."

Good morning, fellow East Coasters. And hello to the rest of you, as well. I'm coming back to Reborn after a while of being away, and I'm looking to start again. I remember having some serious difficulties in my last playthrough, to the extent that I felt like I was being completely excluded from the Field Effect system, except until it was used against me to deadly effect.

I'm not a beginner at Pokemon, but I need some expert help on how to team-build, both for individual creatures and within the larger scope of a six man team. Should I try to gather Pokemon from as many types as possible, or should I trim it down to a thinner range of types, while still remaining versatile? How many attackers should I have compared to defenders? How can I make my team influence and counter field effects consistently?

I'll get this party started and say that I'm leaning towards either a Protean Greninja, or a Speed Boost Blaziken for a starter.

I'm looking forward to what you all have to say, please let me know of any questions you have.

Edited by Chameleon109

Personally, I’d do a cyndaquil, because typhlosion is A) cool as fuck and B)overpowered as fuck when it gets eruption. However, until then it’s mediocre at best. So probably greninja is your best bet. I’m actually using it right now in an oriental themed run, and it’s working beautifully. As for team building, you’ll have to have probably 11 or 12 mons total, depending on who your opponent is. If you try to keep one single team the whole time you’re fucked unless you ev train everything (at least I was). You should pick up the kricketune in peridot ward, as it will carry you through at least Corey’s gym. After you beat the first gym you should pick up an onix in peridot because steelix is an absolute unit.

After that it’s prety much up to you.