Rebalancing Pokemon base stats

Greetings!

A week ago I found out that Pokémon Reborn exists. I started playing Reborn Hardcore, and it's awesome. The official main series games are just way too easy if you know the first thing about competitive battling. 

There is one thing about Pokémon battling that has always frustrated me though: some Pokémon are just not good enough to be competitive. They have a low base stat total or a suboptimal stat distribution that leaves them outclassed by others. Rapidash for example is completely outclassed by Infernape. There is also some power creep going on: the average BST of fully evolved Pokémon in gens I-III is ~460, while in gen IV-VI it's ~495. A shame, because for nostalgic folks like me the original Pokémon are way cooler. Wouldn't it be nice if base stats were more fairly distributed?

With the potential for modding in Reborn, it might just be possible to make a mod that rebalances Pokémon base stats. That's a project I would love to get started with. Playing with numbers is one of my hobbies (no really). So, is there any interested in such a mod, or would it be considered blasphemy?

7 minutes ago, Delta of Isaire said:

Greetings!

A week ago I found out that Pokémon Reborn exists. I started playing Reborn Hardcore, and it's awesome. The official main series games are just way too easy if you know the first thing about competitive battling. 

There is one thing about Pokémon battling that has always frustrated me though: some Pokémon are just not good enough to be competitive. They have a low base stat total or a suboptimal stat distribution that leaves them outclassed by others. Rapidash for example is completely outclassed by Infernape. There is also some power creep going on: the average BST of fully evolved Pokémon in gens I-III is ~460, while in gen IV-VI it's ~495. A shame, because for nostalgic folks like me the original Pokémon are way cooler. Wouldn't it be nice if base stats were more fairly distributed?