Newbie here - Need Help please :(

Artemis

Hi guys, i just started the game today

i see we can pick from 18 different starters

I just want your opinion as to which one is the best one to pick?

If i'm not mistaken there's mega evolution in this game

so i was thinking maybe one of Gen 1 starters?

Please help

The best starter that everyone agrees is Blaziken! It can sweep most fights and makes the game way easier than it is.
Mega evolution is in the game, but we currently don't have access to mega ring. Don't worry though, in the next Episode (update) it will be available but I don't think we will have access to any of the starters mega stones...
If you want a good starter I'd say choose either Greninja, Infernape or Serperior. These are the most solid starters behind Blaziken ofc :)

As of now Mega Evolution is NOT available for the player. however we can find Megastones already in areas late in the current game.

THE BEST Starters are arguably:

Torchic with Speed boost -> as a Blaziken learning Bulk Up and having speed boost makes setting up relatively easy and then Sweeping with it becomes a cake walk, most of the time.

Froakie with Protean -> great Speed and verstility because of Protean! -> facing of against Electric or Grass Pokemon? - switch your type to something that doesn't gethit supereffectively.

Chimchar with Iron Fist -> Speed not as good as Greninja or Speedboost-Blaziken, but higher attack power, and with Iron Fist boosted Mach Punch and elemental Punches from Move Tutor (or breeding...) a very strong and versatile option.

also very good is Contrary Snivy once it learns Leaf Storm it becomes a special-sweeping machine!

later in the game, you can obtain selected starter-pokemon through in-game events (like Squirtle, Chsepin and Totodile) - a full list of Optainable Pokemon is here:

http://www.pokemonreborn.com/game/obtainable.html

Edited by Cepheus