Help? Trying to catch trainers' pokemon in Reborn and Rejuvenation

Let me start by fully owning that I am a noob. I'm a fast learner with tech when I have a need to learn something, but I have never had any need to code anything before in my life. So I fully realize I'm almost certainly having an 1d10t error. 

That said, I've been following two guides that I've linked at the bottom, but I keep getting syntax errors which cause the game to not open.

I have a folder with pokemon essentials, copied over the reborn or rejuv data, replacing some of the generic files in the process. Replaced PE PBS for the correct PBS. Altered some of the balls in the PBS to be snagballs, and then went to change the scripts. 

I try changing "if @opponent && (!pbIsSnagBall?(ball) || !battler.isShadow?)" to "if @opponent && (!pbIsSnagBall?(ball)" That in itself causes a syntax error for both reborn and rejuv. I try editing the rest of the lines suggested in the pokecommunity tutorial. Still doesn't work. I try removing the extra lines that are between the various lines of the pokecommunity tutorial, still no dice. 

Here's the original code that I think I'm supposed to be editing. Any ideas? What other data might you need from me? Thanks in advance guys.

if @opponent && (!pbIsSnagBall?(ball) || !battler.isShadow?)
      @scene.pbThrowAndDeflect(ball,1)
      if $game_switches[290]==false 
        pbDisplay(_INTL("The Trainer blocked the Ball!\nDon't be a thief!"))
      else
        pbDisplay(_INTL("The Pokémon knocked the ball away!"))
      end
    else
      if $game_switches[290]==true
        pbDisplay(_INTL("The Pokémon knocked the ball away!"))
        return
      end
      pokemon=battler.pokemon
      species=pokemon.species
      if $DEBUG && Input.press?(Input::CTRL)
        shakes=4

https://www.pokecommunity.com/showthread.php?t=357057

7 hours ago, Mindlack said: