Some musing about Melia's character.

Magus543

Melia is quite a fascinating character to me personally, and a base breaking character for the rest of the Rejuv fanbase. Some like her, others call her a Mary Sue and complain about her hogging the spotlight. I'd like to start some discussion, and an analysis on her character and her development. 

As we know, Melia has quite a bit of fanfiction cliches, including having super special awesome god-like powers, most people who she meets has a crush on her ( Ren, Venam, Kanon, even that Blakeory jerk in GDC.), super mysterious backstory, and the villains wanting to steal her powers. Now that isn't necessarily a bad thing in of itself, Rejuvenation is fanfiction is ultimately, and the writer did start this as a teenager i hear,( i think? Feel free to correct me.) and it ultimately boils down to execution. As an amateur writer, i can see that the devs prefer writing her and her story over the PCs(IE our self inserts) and the reason is simple, she can talk and interact with characters and the plot, while the PC's personality is up the player, thus it's easier to get attached to her as the writer, who has her character and backstory all laid out in his head.  Rejuv has this juggling act of balancing both Melia and the PC as main characters, and it's not an easy position, do you focus more on the character you created and can continue to craft, or do you work with the self-insert to keep the fanbase placated and invested in the game? Yeah.