Commander's Opinionated Gaming Articles

A Little Thing Called Love

Ah romance, it's a genre of writing that every writer who does not live under a rock knows about which is the biggest genre in literature. I'm a science fantasy writer personally, but that doesn't mean I've never read a romance novel before. I've also admittedly watched a couple Hallmark movies (since my mom was watching TV) and I thought they were alright. And now I remember Time Traveler's Wife which was my punishment one day. And since I'm losing man points anyways, I watch Food Network's Halloween Wars. Yes, this actually does have relevance to what we are talking about. If you are about to click away from the article or make a comment about why you hate romance, I ask that you stop what you are doing and continue reading. I'm not going to change what you think of it, but how you view it.

So let's just define romance for a moment. I really want to clear something up before explaining how I define it. I've seen people bring up text book definitions of words to try and prove a point. That's good and all to bring up the origin of a word, but often changes over time such as epic, edgy, and gay. When arguing at a formal or professional level, you need to omit slang and stick with the textbook definition. We are not defining the proper term and use of the word here and if you aren't sure what it is, there's a beautiful thing called Google. We're going to focus on the more informal definitions. You know how words tend to have something applied to them like Sardines are stinky. You tend to apply stinky fish and sardines interchangeably but both make you think of something that smells bad. So romance is a word that will make people go bleh, it's so cute, or some very erotic thought I cannot speak of. It's a generalization, but it gets a majority of people.