Project Zenith!

Greetings!
About time I do something with this account...now you may recall seeing my profile mentioning something about showing off development of a fan-game of my own.
I have decided to start making progresses in development public! While I would prefer not to advertise my project on traditional media sites such as Twitter or Tumblr due to how...fearful I am of Nintendo, I may consider it if the community on here shows enough interest for it.
This is my first attempt at actually going through with development of a fan-game, and not just working on it in secrecy and mentioning it to a few friends.
I have dabbled in the process of idea-development. A lot. A lot. I've been drawing since I was three years old, and if there is one good thing I could say about myself it's that I have a creative imagination. However, it's time to see if I can prove that to be true.
The name of my fan-game is Pokemon Zenith. Through various ditched ideas and plots I've gone through over the years now, I have mixed the best ideas leftover from those along with adding plenty of new material to the table. I don't want to give too much away just yet, but I can give a general synopsis of the story at the end of this post.
This game of mine is rather early in development, if you can even call it development at this point. The things I have focused on first and foremost are the creation of the characters. Character creation has always been my passion, and now that I have a stable story and (what I consider to be) unique characters to tie it together, I am more confident to proceed forward with the project.
As of now, major/important characters have trainer sprites for all of them, with VS sprites, backsprites, and overworld sprites currently in the works.
As for what will come after that, I have thought about creating the game's map.