My feedback on Rejuvenation

LucidRain

Hello everyone! Name's Pigeon, long time lurker and got introduced to Rejuvenation by a friend a while back. Binged on it and have completed up to the end of V9.

I must say, I really enjoyed playing the game and I can see a lot of time and effort has put into this. Though I can't say I'm an expert in fan-games and in no way think I can match the quality that the Devs can produce, I've got a few things to say about Rejuvenation, both good and bad.

Err, and spoiler warning too.

First of all, the aesthetics. I must say, I am pretty impressed by the pixel art designs. All of the characters look natural both over-world and battle sprites, and the music, sprites and other little details such as shaking screens and flashes really make for a immersive experience and hooks people in the story. I especially like how the artists handled the blizzard and action in the Frost Dimension - the snow, crumbling tower and the explosions at the end brought out the desolation and power of the angry ice lady. There were some derpy times where the game glitched and decided to throw pixels all over the place, but otherwise the game's aesthetic design make for a nice support.

Secondly, difficulty. The difficulty curve in Rejuvenation is handled rather nicely. Venam doesn't pose too much of a challenge to deter the newcomers, but still gives a nasty jab to people who think on main game difficulty. The natural curve of difficulty of slowly learning the ropes like field effects are consistent throughout the game, and this is assisted by anti-grinding like level caps and breeders. The game is also not only about having the biggest numbers, and contains fields effects which allows unique strategies that are mostly slanted to the boss but still poses a fair chance to the player too. There are some difficulty spikes like Angie who spams Cold Truth, but for the most part the natural progression of the difficulty is handled well.