I got bored at work, so here's a story about me getting handcuffed by the police

I work as a lifeguard at one of the local YMCA's, and we have a 30 minute on/30 minute off schedule. Today is super slow even on the half-hours I work, so I decided to write down a story for y'all to read.

--

This is the story of the time I got handcuffed by the cops

So this happened about 2 or 3 weeks ago I think. I like to take my dog out for drives to give me some time alone, and because he absolutely loves the feeling of the wind and the smells of nature. This particular time was right after my brother got back from college. I had a lot less time to myself, and just wanted to get away for a bit to relax and find some peace, and I was scared to leave when people were awake, so I went for the drive at around 11:30 pm after everybody had fallen asleep.

So I got in the car with my dog, drove to a gas station where I picked up a cold root beer and a bag of M&M's, then headed out into the countryside. I drove my usual route which doesn't actually head that far out of the city, but stops at the Middle School I went to growing up and has a nearby park where I occasionally take my dog for walks.

For the most part, the ride was great. The dog was in love with getting a ride, and wouldn't take his head out of the window. The trouble came as I was on my way back from the countryside and was going to stop at the school for some time to just be alone and think. Well, I must've started thinking before I got to the school, because as I was pulling into the school I saw a cop with his lights on behind me. So I pull over, he turns on his magnifying light and proceeds to head on over to my car where I'm casually sitting listening to 60's/70's classics, drinking root beer, and eating M&M's. He informs me that I was going 63 in a 45 mph and, after asking many other normal police officer questions, asks where I was headed so quickly and why.

This is where I make every mistake possible.